City Council - District 8

Job Description, District Maps

The office: Birmingham City Council, District 8

The duties: The nine-member council is the legislative arm of Birmingham city government. It enacts legislation, adopts budgets and decides on policies for the city during weekly council meetings. One councilor is elected from each of nine districts to serve a four-year term.

District 8 includes north and west communities including Belview Heights, Bush Hills, Central Park, Central Park, Ensley Highlands, Fairview, Thomas, Rising West Princeton and parts of Tuxedo.


Birmingham City Council District Map