2021 Birmingham City Election

New Challengers Enter Birmingham City Elections

New challengers have emerged in Birmingham’s upcoming municipal elections, which will take place Aug. 24.

Since late February, 10 additional candidates have announced runs for council seats, with some races growing rather crowded; one new candidate, meanwhile, has thrown his hat into the ring for mayor.

Kimberly Jeanty will oppose District 2 Councilor Hunter Williams for his seat this year. Jeanty, a program director for Community Kitchens of Birmingham and a previous interim executive director for the Ruffner Mountain Nature Preserve, previously ran for the seat in 2017.

The crowded field seeking the District 4 seat currently held by Council President William Parker has also grown, adding Gwendolyn Cook Webb. Webb, a minister, former Birmingham Police Department officer and longtime civil rights activist, joins a slate of candidates that includes Parker, Qunelius “Cory” Pettway, Scottie McClaney and Jonathan “JT” Moore.

Two new candidates have entered the District 5 council race. Starr Robb, community activist and executive director of Be a Blessing Birmingham, and Birmingham American Federation of Teachers President Richard Franklin are looking to unseat incumbent Darrell O’Quinn, who is seeking reelection.

Political organizer Clarence Muhammad has announced a run for the council’s District 6 seat, joining incumbent Councilor Crystal Smitherman and activist Keith O. Williams in the race. Like Williams, Muhammad previously ran for the seat in 2019.

In the absence of a confirmed re-election bid from Councilor Steven Hoyt, District 8’s field of candidates has blossomed. Carol E. Clarke, a former economic development director for the city, has been joined in the race by activist Celi Soto, Fairview neighborhood Persident Adlai Trone and Barbara Files Kennedy. Hoyt did not immediately respond to requests for comment.

In District 9, incumbent John Hilliard and challenger LaTonya Tate have been joined in the race by BJCTA board member Kevin Powe, as well as minister and activist Eric Hall.

District 1 Councilor Clinton Woods remains unopposed. As previously reported, District 3 Councilor Valerie Abbott faces challengers Blake Guinn and Joseph Baker III for her seat, while District 7 councilor and President Pro Tempore Wardine Alexander will face off against Lonnie Malone.

The campaign to be the city’s chief executive, meanwhile, is now a seven-way race, as activist Philemon Hill joins incumbent mayor Randall Woodfin, former mayor William Bell, Jefferson County Commissioner Lashunda Scales, businessman Chris Woods, philanthropist Cerissa A. Brown and activist Darryl Williams. Hill previously ran for the seat in 2017.

Read the wrap-up story about candidates running for mayor.

Read the wrap-up story about candidates running for City Council.