Birmingham City Council

New Members Appointed to BMA Board

Birmingham Museum of Art (Photo by: Sean Pathasema/Birmingham Museum of Art)

The Birmingham City Council voted Tuesday to appoint seven members to the Birmingham Museum of Art’s board of directors, including four new members and three reappointments.

Departing member Braxton Goodrich will be replaced by fellow Mike & Gillian Goodrich Foundation board member Grace Goodrich, who also works as a development consultant and grant writer and served as former director of development and operations for the Southern Food and Beverage Museum in New Orleans.

Edgar Marx will replace current board Chair Maye Head Frei. Marx is president of Marx Brothers Inc., an importer and supplier of coconut products, and has served as a trustee and governance chair for the BMA. He is currently serving as chair of the 2022 Museum Ball, which is the museum’s largest annual fundraiser.

Dr. Eric P. Jack will replace G. Ruffner Page on the board. Jack is a board member and past president of the Rotary Club of Birmingham and is a current board member for Innovation Depot, Founders Advisors LLC, Macovery Security LLC, the Birmingham Committee on Foreign Relations, United Way of Central Alabama and the Southern Business Administration Association.

Marilyn Hulsey Dixon will fill a term left open by Kelly Styslinger; Dixon is a former employee of CBS 42 News and is a board member for several local nonprofits, including The WellHouse and Lift Up the Vulnerable. She has previously served on the BMA’s Museum Ball Committee and chaired its corporate giving efforts.

Joyce Crawford Mitchell has been reappointed for a second six-year term. She has previously served as a board member of the Breast Cancer Research Foundation of Alabama, as well as the advisory board of the Alys Stephens Center. A dual resident of Pittsburgh and Birmingham, Mitchell has promised her private collection of African American art to the BMA.

Patricia Wallwork, CEO of Milo’s Tea Company, has been reappointed for another six-year term.

So has Kimberly Richardson, an independent grant writing and management consultant who had also served as previous president of the Birmingham Public Library Board of Directors and as a member of the Grant Professionals Certification Institute’s board of directors. She also currently works as a law and policy advocate at Tulane University.

The terms of all new appointees will expire Aug. 31, 2028, except for Dixon’s, which will expire Aug. 31, 2026.