2017 Birmingham Elections

88 File to Run for Office in Birmingham City Elections

Eighty-eight people are running for office in Birmingham’s Aug. 22 election, 12 of them for mayor. A total of 44 are running for seats on the City Council, and 32 are running for city Board of Education seats. None of the races is uncontested. Friday was the deadline to qualify for elections.  Candidates who will be on the ballot:


Patricia Bell

William Bell Sr. (I)

Ronaldo Merrell Davis

Ervin Hill II

Trudy Hunter

Carl Jackson

Lanny Edward Jackson

Donald T. Lomax

Frank James Matthews

Brother Fernandez Sims

Randall Lee Woodfin

Christopher Wyatt Woods



 Council District 1

Sherman Collins

Lashunda Scales (I)

Council District 2

Lawrence Conway

Kimberly Jeanty

Stephen L. Murphy

Kimberly Rafferty (I)

Deanna Reed

Jordan Thompson

Thomas Hunter Molton Williams

Tyrone Williams

Council District 3

Valerie Abbott (I)

Rowan Henderson

Joseph Ryan Jones

 Council District 4

Mary Jean Lamay

William Parker (I)

Qunelius Pettway

Sergio Williams

 Council District 5

Johnathan Austin (I)

Dorothea Crosby

Christopher Davis

Darrell O’Quinn

Erica Robbins

David Schatz

Robert Walker

Council District 6

Keith Mims

Sheila Tyson (I)

Keith Williams

Council District 7  

Titus Battle

Hosea Lewis

Lonnie Malone

James “Jay” Roberson (I)

Jeffery Rowser

Council District 8

Steven Hoyt (I)

Lynette Peters

Gerri Robinson

Adlai Trone

Council District 9

Angene Coleman

John Randall Hilliard

Eric Hall

Wendell Warren Major

David Russell

Reginald Swanson

Roderick Van Royal

James Williams Jr.



School Board District 1

Bennie M. Holmes

Douglas Ragland

Keith Rice

Cedric Small

Jerry Tate

School Board District 2

Brandon McCray

Teresa Michal

School Board District 3

Mary Drennen Boehm

Larry Contri

School Board District 4

Amber Marie Courtney

Daagye Hendricks (I)

Edward Maddox

School Board District 5

Buford Burkes

Eloise Manning Crenshaw

Michael Millsap Jr.

Martha McDowell

David McKinney

Andrea Mitchell

Aaisha Muhammad

Angela Scoggins-Watson

School Board District 6

Lavon Beard

Cheri Adams Gardner (I)

Ervin Hill

School Board District 7

Wardine Alexander (I)

Patricia McAdory

Walter Wilson

School Board District 8

Patricia Henderson

Tyrone Silmon

Sonja Smith

Antwon Womack

School Board District 9

Sandra Kelley Brown (I)

Lawrence Jackson


This article has been correct to include Eloise Manning Crenshaw as a candidate for School Board District 5, not the council, and to add James William Jr. as a candidate for the council’s District 9.