Birmingham City Council

Birmingham Council Looking at Candidates to Fill Seats on Several Boards

Birmingham City Council. (Source: Sam Prickett)

Seats on several Birmingham boards and authorities will be up for grabs next month, including city council-appointed positions on the Birmingham-Jefferson County Transit Authority and the Birmingham Land Bank Authority.

Five transit authority seats will become vacant Aug. 10, when the terms of current board members Theodore L. Smith, Darryl Cunningham, LeDon James, Willie S. Davis and Kevin Powe expire. The nomination process is handled by the council’s transportation committee — though, as with all these positions, a full council vote will be required to confirm nominees.

Two positions on the city’s cooperative board with the science and engineering nonprofit Southern Research will become vacant Aug. 29. Those seats currently are occupied by William E. Harden Jr. and Tamika Wren; new nominations will be decided by the city council’s economic development committee.

A similar cooperative board, the Alabama Special Care Facilities Financing Authority of Birmingham, also is seeking to fill the vacancy left by Anthony C. Hood. His term expired in November 2017, but since the council did not appoint a replacement, he continued to serve for an additional 3½ years. He submitted his resignation letter to the council June 28. Nominations for his replacement will be determined by the council’s public safety committee.

Vacancies on the Stormwater Appeals Board and the Solid Waste Authority will be filled next month, with nominations closing Aug. 15.

Nominations to fill the second director’s seat on the Birmingham Land Bank Authority also will close Aug. 15. Those looking to fill the position for its four-year term can email their resumes to District 6 Councilor Crystal Smitherman at