2017 Birmingham Elections

Four New Members and One Incumbent Elected to Birmingham Board of Education

Mickey Millsap hugs Darrell O’Quinn Tuesday night after both won their races for the Birmingham Board of Education and the Birmingham City Council. (Source: Solomon Crenshaw Jr.)

The Birmingham Board of Education will have six new members after Tuesday’s runoff election.

Only three incumbents remain on the nine-member board that oversees the state’s fourth-largest school system.

New Board of Education members elected Tuesday – all current or retired educators – are Douglas Lee Ragland, Michael “Mickey” Millsap, Patricia Spigner McAdory and Sonja Q. Smith.  Also in the runoff, incumbent board member Daayge Hendricks was re-elected for a second term.

They will join two more new board members, Mary Drennan Boehm in District 3 and Terri Michal in District 2, who won in the Aug. 22 election, plus incumbents Sandra Kelly Brown in District 9 and Cheri Gardner in District 6, who were reelected without a runoff.

Elected to the board in Tuesday’s runoff were:

  • District 1: Douglas Lee Ragland, 60, a career public school administrator and teacher who retired from the Midfield City Schools system. In the runoff, Ragland received 51.73 percent of the vote against the Rev. Cedric Small, 32, who received 48.27 percent.
  • District 4: Daagye Hendricks, 41, who works at UAB. A board member since 2013, Hendricks was in a close runoff race with challenger Edward Maddox, 61, a former school board president who resigned in 2012 as part of a plea agreement related to two misdemeanor ethics changes. Hendricks received 2,185 votes, for 51.23 percent, over Maddox, who had 2,080 votes, for 48.77 percent.
  • District 5: Michael “Mickey” Millsap, 43, an entrepreneurship and innovation professor at UAB and high school science teacher. Millsap received 56.58 percent of the vote over David T. McKinney, 34, a communications professor at Jefferson State Community College, who had 43.42 percent.
  • District 7: Patricia Spigner McAdory, 65, a retired Birmingham city schools teacher. McAdory received 60.01 percent of the vote over Walter “Big Walt” Wilson, 49, a supervisor in the Birmingham public works department, who received 39.99 percent. School board President Wardine Towers Alexander ran for re-election to the seat but failed to make the runoff.
  • District 8: Sonja Q. Smith, 36, a music and tennis instructor. Smith received 63.67 percent of the runoff vote over 36.33 percent for Patricia Bozeman-Henderson, 57, who is a coordinator in Birmingham municipal court.

The majority of the sitting board – Sherman Collins, Lyord Watson, Brian Giattina, Randall Woodfin, and April Williams – did not seek reelection. Woodfin ran for and won the mayor’s seat, and Collins lost in his bid for a City Council seat in the Aug. 22 election.

Slated to be sworn in Oct 24, members of the Birmingham board serve four-year terms and oversee the operation of the 44-school system. The system has more than 25,000 students, 1,500 teachers and an annual budget of more than $370 million.