2017 Birmingham Elections

Three Birmingham City Council Seats Are up for Grabs

Voters go to the polls Tuesday to make final decisions on who will fill three Birmingham City Council seats.

No candidates in Districts 2, 5 and 9 received more than half the votes cast in the Aug. 23 elections, and voters Tuesday will choose between the top two vote-getters in the race.

District 2: Incumbent Councilor Kim Rafferty faces challenger Hunter Williams. Rafferty trailed Williams in the Aug. 23 election, getting about 17 percent of the vote to his 29 percent.

District 5: Incumbent Council President Johnathan Austin faced strong competition in his re-election bid from challenger Darrell O’Quinn. Austin got more than 31 percent of the vote, while O’Quinn got almost 26 percent.

District 9: Roderick Royal, who previously served on the council was the top vote-getter with 31 percent of the vote. In the runoff he faces John Hilliard, who got more than 21 percent of the vote. The incumbent in the district, Councilor Marcus Lundy, did not seek re-election.

Voters decided in the first round of voting to return incumbents who held the other six seats to the council again. District 1’s Lashunda Scales, District 3’s Valerie Abbott, District 4’s William Parker, District 6’s Sheila Tyson, District 7’s Jay Roberson, and District 8’s Steven Hoyt were elected without a runoff.