Tag: Alabama House of Representatives

Vote Tuesday in House District 52 Race

Some Birmingham-area voters will be going to the polls Tuesday to select a Democratic nominee to run for the Alabama House of Representatives District 52 seat, which recently was left vacant after former Rep. John Rogers resigned and pleaded guilty to federal corruption charges.

Six Democrats are running for the seat: Dedra Campbell, Kelvin Datcher, Eric Major, LaTanya Millhouse, Eyrika L. Parker and Frank Woodson. If none of the candidates gets more than half of the votes, there will be a runoff between the top two votegetters on July 16.

One Republican is running for the seat – Carlos Crum. Since he had no challengers for the Republican nomination, there won’t be a Republican ballot in Tuesday’s election.

The general election on Oct. 1 will pit Crum against the Democratic winner.

House District 52 covers parts of Birmingham, including the Glen Iris, Powderly, Southwest Birmingham and West End communities; along with sections of Homewood, Mountain Brook, Bessemer and unincorporated Jefferson County. See the map here.

You can determine whether you’re in House District 52 by looking up your name on the Secretary of State’s website.

BirminghamWatch’s Voter Guide for the race also includescandidate profiles, a compilation of the candidates’ statements on why they should be elected and the issues that are most important to them. Read more.